>Sometimes it takes me a while

>For some reason this morning, I suddenly made a decision regarding that which is laughingly referred to as my wardrobe. It is in dire and desperate need of another baby-doll style dress: this season’s fashion gift to those of us with almost no boobs and a disproportionately large middle.
So did I head straight for town and the delights of somewhere like Country Tar-jay?
not on your Nellie
not this little black duck
for what my wardrobe required, nay, demanded, was
a crochet dress.
in nice, cool cotton
blue
maybe variegated
Something like the misdyed Bendy 8-ply cotton I used for the Chic Hippie [ or in my case Hippy Chick ] skirt from Candi Jensen’s Hooked On Crochet.
You know.
That one I made last year and never wear because it makes me look like a hippy hippie hippo

For modesty’s sake, perhaps the top section could be solid trebles [double crochet for my US friends] … just like the yoke of the CH skirt

and then some sort of graduated shell pattern … just like the CH skirt

yeah and maybe some little buttons down the front …like … the … ones … on … the …

bloody hell

fast forward through the removal of the drawstring from the waist, and the manipulating of a few metres of cotton thread around a 3.5mm hook to create a couple of shoulder straps
and if you’ll forgive the crappy back-lit photos:

11 thoughts on “>Sometimes it takes me a while

  1. Mandie says:

    >Oh wow, tis gorgeous!

  2. Leah says:

    >Cool!!! And how clever of you…

  3. Rose Red says:

    >You clever clogs! You made your skirt into a top! Yay! So much better than making a new top from scratch (or buying one…)

  4. Alwen says:

    >[blink blink] Wow, that was fast!

  5. TinkingBell says:

    >Waaaah! that looks grreattttt!! You fashion maven, you!

  6. >That is adorable!!!! And I do love the baby doll style. It is kind to the midsection. Not kind to the boobs, though. Dunno when I suddenly got those…

  7. >….what a very clever little black duck you are! And it’s the right length too. I wonder if Nadie will put in an order?

  8. Bells says:

    >Oh wow! I absolutely love it!

  9. Caity says:

    >SUPER CUTE! Over black leggings this winter with cute ballet flats? YES!!

  10. >Wow, that looks great … how long did it take you to make ?? Wish I could crochet that well !!Take care, Meow

Leave a Reply

