A new start

I’ve finally embraced the need to move my blog over to WordPress and with Nadie’s help, here we are … and that’s not the only newness around here this week either.

Almost any yarn-oriented person in Australia, certainly anyone that hasn’t been living under a stone for the last several months, will have been aware that the Australian Wool & Sheep Show was on in Bendigo last Friday, Saturday and Sunday.

The Girl and I had a great time of it

There was a rainbow of indie dyers, wool producers by the bale, all the major and minor suppliers of any of the multitude of things produced to put a smile on the face of your committed knitter, spinner, weaver or whathaveyou.

There were the glass cases full of spectacular competition entries to be oohed and aahed over.

There were the sheep

and cashmere, mohair and angora goats.

If it’s okay with you, we won’t talk about how close I came to talking Pete & Brenda into a pair of tiny mother-rejected week old angora kids

[ missed it by THAT much ]

and then there was:

What? Have you never seen a gentleman of mature years arrayed in full viking garb complete with knitted chain mail and horn-ed helmet?

Ron the creator and purveyor of some truly bee-oo-ti-ful turned wooden thingamabobs.

When we happened along, he was explaining the finer points of ‘park-and-draft’ spinning with a drop spindle. Seemed logical enough, and given that my spindle and I are not on speaking terms, it was something I wanted to try … and did.

After that we wandered over to visit the abovementioned goats, so that The Girl could get the obligatory goat snuzzles

and on the way back to the main pavilions, Nadie expressed an interest in my showing her how to use a drop spindle once we got home.

Oh, but I can do better than that!

Marched her straight back to Ron, who gave her an extremely detailed and hands-on spinning lesson for at least 20 minutes, even before he realised that I fully intended to buy her a spindle of her own.

which I did … a lovely 1 oz osage orange one which she is currently using [ with MissC’s ‘help’] to turn out perfectly spun singles.

None of your usual beginner thick-and-thin overspun underspun either. This spindle is so beautifully weighted and dainty, and Ron is such a good teacher, that Nadie is spinning like she’s been doing it for a lot longer than a couple of days.

Colour me somewhat proud ๐Ÿ™‚

So there we are

a new blogย  and a new spinner all in the same week

21 thoughts on “A new start

  1. ozjane says:

    Congratulations all around.
    I just paid Google not much money and stayed put…..typical unadventurous story of my life at times.

    • catsmum says:

      I did think about just paying the pittance and staying put but as I’d pretty much steeled myself to make the move – and had The Girl to help shift the furniture – I figured why not.

  2. Marcie says:

    Very neat new look! I’ve added the new address to my blog feed – maybe now you’ve solved the space problem, you’ll be able to post more often ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Dorothy says:

    Thought I’d pop in to the housewarming (or should that be blogwarming/). The site looks good and how clever to be able to move all your stuff over from the other place.

  4. Maria says:

    Oh how I wish I lived near Bendigo at this time of year. Looks like there was even temptation for my hubby with the timber ๐Ÿ™‚

    • catsmum says:

      oh there wasn’t just Ron there – in another tent there was a woodturner from Geelong [ with his lathe ] and then the Bendigo Woodworkers had their own marquee with demos

  5. Bells says:

    you made it! Looks great. Glad you had a great time at the show.

  6. Lynne says:

    Ooo! You’ve moved your whole blog over – I wasn’t expecting that! Well done Nadie!

    I wish I could find an experienced, capable teacher to teach me how to use the supported spindle I bought from Galina Khmeleva in March!

  7. RoseRed says:

    Well hello there! New home! Looks like Bendi was lots of fun, and hello new spinner! Must be in the genes or something…

  8. Welcome to your new home!
    And probably much easier than actually moving house as I dont think you probably had to pack anything!

  9. mandy says:

    Hello, what a lovely first post on your new Blog. How clever of your daughter to get the spinning right so quickly. You are right to be so proud.
    Best wishes,
    Mandy
    (Yes, you know me from Ravelry and My Sewing Circle)

  10. donna lee says:

    I like the look of the new place. It already feels like the old place. I was thrilled when two of my three girls took up knitting and then spinning. It gives us something else to do together and we can sit and talk yarn/patterns for hours. And now I have someone to drag to sheep shows.

  11. gayle says:

    Well done!
    Your viking made me smile. As did the goatlings. And the spinning.

  12. alwen says:

    Osage orange is such a versatile wood, so pretty when worked. It’s supposed to be useful in dyeing, and I understand its ash can be used in pottery glazes.

    My husband helped clear some out years ago, and we save it to burn on the coldest days – it burns HOT and they say it will melt a sheet metal woodstove. Luckily ours is soapstone.

  13. catsmum says:

    yes I wish Ron lived a bit closer – I’d beg some osage orange chips to try in the dyepot

  14. […] There’s the Wool & Sheep Show in Bendigo. […]

Leave a Reply

