The Road Less Travelled

You’d think after decades of tutoring quilt classes that have had me negotiating the backways and byways of country Victoria and some of New South Wales, and the more recent actual being a resident of  Central Victoria, that I’d be able to negotiate my way from point a] Castlemaine to point b]’wherever’ without getting myself lost, and that’s usually the case …  unless I’m heading for somewhere in Ballarat

which was apparently laid out by a madman without the aid of a compass or sense of direction

[ and it doesn’t help when the internet instructions think one will arrive there faster by driving  through a pedestrian mall ]

Thankfully my destination was the bright haven of light & colour that is Ballarat Patchwork, nearest nominated drop-off point for quilts going down to Jeff’s Shed for the Vic Quilters’ Exhibition next Thursday – Sunday.

There are apparently three quilt shops in Ballarat. This one was new to me, being in a part of the town I’ve never has reason to visit. Today was a fast  ‘drop & run’  but I will definitely be having a closer look on my return visit to collect my quilt – and at least next time I’ll know where I’m headed … but I’m taking Nadie and her GPS along just in case.

8 thoughts on “The Road Less Travelled

  1. Marcie says:

    Don’t know why everyone but me seems to get lost in Ballarat! Though I did spend quite a bit of time there (staying with rellies) as a kid.
    There’s a wonderful embroidery shop in Mair Street too.
    Lovely city, shame about the weather…

    • catsmum says:

      I did see the embroidery shop but was totally focused on finding thqt quilt shop. Didn’t even go on out to Gail’s Patchwork Emporium – the Holiest of Holies- but there’s alwways the return trip, eh ?

  2. Chris says:

    As a Canadian who visited Ballarat 3 years ago – I agree that the streets are confusing. But I have to say, we also found Bendigo confusing – especially trying to find the Woollen Mills – but you can’t stop a knitter bent on finding Aussie yarn *g*

    • catsmum says:

      Oh Bendigo is nearly as bad – just smaller – but I’m getting to know which of the streets actually go where I’m heading. It’s only taken 6 years 🙂

  3. Lynne says:

    Congratulations on having a quilt (or was it quilts) hanging at the Craft and Quilt Fair!

    • catsmum says:

      it’s one quilt [ Nadie & Chris’ wedding quilt ] and to keep it in perspective, to get a quilt in, you only need to be a paid up member of VQ and to pay the appropriate entry fee

      not expecting to win anything … just want to show my Melbourne friends that I’m still making quilts 🙂

  4. Suzanne Farr says:

    Will look for it on Sunday, when I visit the show. My daughter is now living part-time in Ballarat, doing nursing, and seems to have worked out the town pretty well – but I guess that is a young and less stressed driver than me.

Leave a Reply

