le mailot vert

It’s like that thing with buses.

You all know how it goes … you wait forever and then five come along one after the other.

That’s what July is like.

There’s the Wool & Sheep Show in Bendigo.

Two weeks later there’s the huge Quilt & Craft show at Jeff’s Shed

and if that’s not enough to cause your brain to end up somewhere in the vicinity of your knees:

there’s also the TDF:

the Tour De France Knit A Long

and its sister event the Tour De Fleece

It’s a Ravelry thing …

We get ourselves organised into teams and knit like crazy every day that the Tour rides.

For me, this was the year of the sprints.

In the three weeks Le Tour, I finished

two berets,

a pair of very steampunk black lace  spats,

a pair of legwarmers that I designed myself [ Bendigo Classic 8ply brick red ]

two beanies – a Melbourne storm [Rugby ] one for The Boy, but modelled here by The Girl

Rare Yarns Cocoon [ silk/alpaca/merino – and possibly the lushest footy beanie ever but it happens to be the only yarn in the perfect shade ]

and one for Pete-formerly-next-door [ hereinafter referred to as PND ]

in BWM Luxury 8ply

modelled by David

a pair of wristwarmers

AND

two – that’s TWO people –  lace shawls

in ten days

the burgundy one is a Kiri for the Girl in Koigu KPPPM that I won a few years ago as a blog prize from the lovely RoseRed

I started it on the afternoon of July 14th so that I’d have something small and portable to take to the Ravellry WoolBaa Dinner that night.

It was finished on the 19th and I cast on for the navy one on the 20th

# 2 is about a quarter  the size of the burgundy one – but just as many stitches – in laceweight [2ply] baby peruvian alpaca [ Misti Alpaca Lace ] on 3.75mm needles.

This one was cast off, soaked, and blocked just  as the guys were approaching Le Champs Elysee.

and if I ever EVER mention the intention of knitting in navy blue lace weight AT NIGHT …

can someone please shoot me ?

7 thoughts on “le mailot vert

  1. Dorothy says:

    Phew …I’m exhausted !!!! Beautiful knitting.

  2. RoseRed says:

    Wow! That’s a LOT of knitting! I love the Kiri, I would never have thought to use koigu for it! I have had it in my queue for so long…but who am I kidding, I would never be able to knit it in 5 days!

  3. Lynne says:

    Wow! You certainly deserve a jersey – that’s fabulous!

    I continue to plod along with piecing a knitted patchwork blanket!

  4. gayle says:

    That’s a crazy lot of knitting! Wonderful! And all gorgeous!
    (I once knit Rogue in black. I asked to be shot also…)

  5. Maria says:

    Goodness me, you must be exhausted and they all look so very nice

  6. those leg warmers would be very popular in Canada! You could be rich!. They are lovely.

Leave a Reply

