Vale Anjii Solomon

I knew Anjii Solomon for about 5 years before I actually got to meet her in the flesh.
About a month after I joined the Yahoo group Southern Cross Quilters, my husband Marc, was diagnosed with terminal cancer and my world fell apart.
Anjii was there.
Her Ken was in remission at that stage and I guess she empathised … whatever the reason, we became close.
A year later, on my birthday , Anjii woke up with the certainty that she needed to phone me. We’d never spoken. She didn’t have a contact number … but she got it … and rang me half an hour after I got home from the hospital after Marc had passed away.

We finally got to meet at a Quilting Retreat in 2003
I made some of the quilts for her book.
She stayed here on a teaching trip to Victoria … called it my slice of heaven.

Anjii was a quilter, a designer, and author [ of the eponymous Anjii’s Angles, based on a technique she invented ]

and she was my friend.

After a stroke last weekend, Anjii crossed the rainbow bridge yesterday to be with her beloved Ken.
Far too soon.

10 thoughts on “Vale Anjii Solomon

  1. Leah says:

    Oh no! I haven’t been a member of qdu for some years (babies got in the way) but I’m very sad to hear this news.

  2. RoseRed says:

    I’m very sorry Susan, hope you are doing ok.

  3. Dorothy says:

    That is so sad but what a beautiful story. My thoughts are with you. Treasure the memories.

  4. chrisknits says:

    How sad. I am sure a light has gone out in the world and she will be missed by many. Peace to you.

  5. allison says:

    I’m starting not to like this month very much; there’s been too much of this kind of news and it’s only a week old.

    What a wonderful set of memories you hav, Susan. I’m sorry you’ve lost such a good friend; she sounds like an exceptionally lovely lady.

  6. catsmum says:

    thanks all – I really haven’t done the girl justice, She may not have had family left to mourn her but she certainly had many circles of friends who will remember her

  7. Lynne says:

    I’m sorry that you have lost a friend, Susan. My thoughts are with you.

  8. Sheepish Annie says:

    I’m so sorry. That sort of connection with another person is so rare and wonderful. I’m sure she will be missed terribly.

  9. Carol says:

    Oh my goodness. I’m so sorry for your loss. Take care.

  10. Judie Gade says:

    Sorry to hear of your loss Cuz … I still have to make it up to your “slice of heaven”.

Leave a Reply

