Invasion of the mutant lemons

As is so often the case, I’ve been too busy doing stuff to take the time to blog about it all

and to be perfectly frank, not all of it was stuff that I was willing or able to share with the wider world

health issues

sick & injured animals

you know

stuff

there has been:

trips to Melbourne for [ oh joy ] multiple dental treatments [ and again this coming week ]

tentative reintroduction to dance classes … which went well apart from last Monday’s ‘falling over onto concrete floor’ part of it which really didn’t do the post-op recovery a lot of good

there has been the discovery of a new knitting group that meets weekly here in Castlemaine.

After a couple of attempts to get there that didn’t quite come  off, I went on Wednesday and had a great time [ but sadly I forgot to take the camera, so you’ll have to wait on that one ]

and of course there has been knitting, but that is under wraps for the moment

there has been quilting too … both the regular group here in town and also a day-long Quilt -In held by the Strathdale Quilters last weekend at Bendigo … and AGAIN I forgot to immortalise the event in digital form.

Great speakers, masses of Show ‘N Tell [ or Chantelle as ‘t’is known in Central Victorian Quilterspeak ]

and I have failed signally in my recording duties.

What I can show you from the Quilt-In is this:

8 metres of gorgeous lush Japanese fabric.

My prize for July’s second place win at the Vic Quilters Show in Melbourne was a rather generous voucher from the ladies at Blue Willow Cottage.

I was trying to fit in the trip to Werribee [ a bit over 300 km round trip ] when I found out that they were going to have a stall at the Strath Quilt-In. Problem solved. I was already leaning towards going, and the dangling carrot of free ‘funny money’ to spend … well … can we say done deal ?

Blue Willow doesn’t have any of their fabric on the website, and after 30 years of quilting, I certainly have all the rulers and cutters that I could ever need. Someone suggested batting but I already have plenty of that socked away. They’ve started stocking a limited range of Japanese fabric, and, hey, it wasn’t costing me anything, so I just told ’em to cut me whatever I could get for the amount of my voucher, which I would collect at the Quilt-In.

and all that brings us around to yesterday.

The first Saturday in the month is shaping up to be our regular get together day – whether you call it a WIP Day [ works in progress ] or a UFO Day [ unfinished objects ] it’s basically an excuse for a stitch ‘n bitch … and a certain high profile american knitter can bite my bum because we quilters have been calling it that since 1983.

So there ! [ insert rasberry noise here ]

Anyway, yesterday, Nadie and I were joined by ravelry knitters [ l to r ] Sharlene, Mel and Toni


up from Melbourne for the day to stage a raid on the Bendigo Woollen Mills, local quilter Merry – who was actually knitting, and left before I grabbed the camera – and Ms Tara who was hand spinning  on a trindle, when not engaged in feeding her  4 month old, [ and no I didn’t get a pic of either Master Bram or the trindle ]

I was still slogging on with the binding on the queen sized Japanese Stack & Slash that I’ve only had back from the quilter since last December.

Why hurry, right ?

and Nadie alternated between working on her quilt top

and spindling

You’ll have to take my word that that’s what she’s doing as the business end was out of sight under the table.

and if you’re wondering about my post title

this is one of Toni’s lemons

apparently she has grapefruit the size of footballs 🙂

4 thoughts on “Invasion of the mutant lemons

  1. Lynne says:

    Wonderful fabric for your “prize money”.

    Sounds like you are getting back to being busy as usual!

  2. gayle says:

    Busy is good, right? At least, that’s what I keep telling myself…
    Holy citrus, that’s a big lemon!

  3. ozjane says:

    You turned down the perfect excuse for a visit. Actually they do have a couple of rulers you may not have. A nice selection of buttons and odds and sods. Although I did not buy at our quilt in as I preferred to trot on down one day.

Leave a Reply

