I have a confession to make

I have a deep dark secret known only to my nearest and dearest

Yes m’dears. In just short of thirty years as a fanatical quilter, I have never EVER made a hexagon quilt.

I know

Hard to credit, but there you are.

I haven’t completely escaped the mesmeric power of the hex though.

A little while ago I found a clever little tutorial by Jasmine at Frills & Spills on making clever little crochet hex based  ‘African Flower’ motifs.

After forwarding the link to a friend, that was about as far as it got until a couple of weeks ago. The Girl and I were visiting Ms Tara and she showed us the latest viral knitting craze: hexipuffs aka the beekeeper’s quilt.

Apparently a goodly  portion of the knittingverse is currently engaged in making these little stuffed hexagonal morsels. [ Seriously. Look it up on Ravelry … It’s currently showing over 1500 separate projects for Beekeepers Quilt ]

Now the only thing that these African Flowers have in common with the hexipuffs is the basic hex shape, but it was enough to tickle ze little grey cells into remembering that link I’d sent to Marcie, but of course, by this stage I’d forgotten where I’d seen it, so I plugged ‘African Flower’ into the pattern search at Ravelry. It turns out that there are several versions floating around, but they all stem from a pattern by Lounette Fourie & Anita Rossouw in the African magazine Sarie [ link for any of you who can read Afrikaans ]

The Frills & Spills version uses UK/Australian crochet terminology. There is an American one by HeidiBears here or there is an ever-so-slightly different [US] version available as a Ravelry download here. 

Okay. So, a quick ferret through the stash unearthed a plastic baggie of vaguely co-ordinating odds and sods of leftover 8ply / DK, and now I can haz my very own flowers.

I’ve decided, having spent this arvo creating the outer denim blue round, that I think I prefer the ones with the darker ‘flowers’

Not at all sure what the heck I’ll end up doing with them, but they ARE good fun to make and a great project to just pick up in between other things [ or for when you leave a vital piece of knitting paraphenalia at home ].

6 thoughts on “I have a confession to make

  1. Marcie says:

    They’re gorgeous! Though it takes an awful lot of them to make anything useful – ask me how I know! But such fun, maybe I’ll revisit that link…

  2. chrisknits says:

    I haven’t jumped on the Hex craze, neither quilt, knit or crochet. But those hexes of yours are very sweet!

  3. Oh wow, these look well funky! I may have to give them a go! Hehe. Possibly make a pillow case out of them! Hmmm.

    xx

  4. Maria says:

    I love making hex’s into blankets, made 2 large one so far. Love the African Flower version and I prefer the darker flower too

  5. RoseRed says:

    Love this hex pattern. If I wasn’t already committed to a Beekeeper Quilt I think I’d have to jump on board with this one! I agree with you, the darker centres work best. they look great.

  6. Lynne says:

    Very cute “floral” hexagons!

Leave a Reply

