A rainbow of Iris[es]

Another beautiful Spring day, so of course, I’ve spent a fair bit of it outside.

Talking to the goats

Pulling out the weeds which reproduce every time I turn around.

I mean, seriously … I weed a particular area, ferociously uprooting each and every interloper, and then, the second I so much as look away, there are ten more of the buggers beggars. I seriously doubt that Nadie and The Boy will notice any improvement when they get back from their sojourn to northern climes [ aka Townsville ] but at least the goaty girls are appreciative of the extra variety in their diet.

When I – or rather my back and knees – got tired of the weeding, I took a break to document some of the iris [ What IS the plural of Iris ? Iris? Irises? ] that have opened in the last couple of days. With the weather as capricious as it is, one has to catch them early or risk not getting ‘that shot’ at all.

So:

I only seem to have a lone representative of this one, so it’s probably a’gimme’ from Pete and Brenda last year. Fingers crossed that it thrives and multiplies.

By happy circumstance [ probably ] I’ve planted it in close proximity to what I like to think of as Nadie & Chris’ Anniversary Iris, because it was blooming for their wedding last year. The first of them bloomed right on schedule last week and are still doing okay, so they complement the new one perfectly.

Then there’s this glorious thing over in another bed  – again just the one, so probably from the same source , and it goes without saying – but I will anyway – that this is another one that I’ll be keeping a close eye on and perhaps introducing to the other two of similar coloration.

and this is one that I was admiring [ yes Pete-and-Brenda’s again ] only a week or so ago. Naturally, as any lover of genus Iris would, I put in a request for one ‘next year’ and twenty seconds later, had this one, in bud, in my hot little hand.

Yes.

I know.

I am a spoilt brat.

.. and finally, what I thought was going to be yet another lemon one, turned out to be a pale, pale peach-with-ruffles.

It’s a very tall one, and rather isolated right at the front of the bed, so I’ll have to try to remember which one it is so that it can be moved to a better spot in January.

This compulsion to constantly move bits and pieces is one of the reasons why I take so many photos of the same areas of garden. That particular bed is roughly triangular and bordered by driveway [ this view] verandah, and the stone path, so it effectively has three ‘fronts’ to be tinkered with.

As you can see, neat-and-tidy is not my style at all.

Okay.

Back to the weeds.

5 thoughts on “A rainbow of Iris[es]

  1. Lynne says:

    I love me a good cottage garden and yours is great!

  2. Val says:

    the garden looks fabulous, I to don’t like controlled gardens and mine is right out of control right now!!!

  3. Jessi says:

    Beautiful.
    Also, I would like to respectfully submit “irisi” as a contender. Just because it’s fun to say. 🙂

  4. ozjane says:

    Adore those Iris. Had a few this year but nothing spectacular
    hope today was a great day. I spent a lot of it sleeping..

Leave a Reply

