Sad News for Quilters

On the weekend, Victorian quilting lost one of it’s best resources when Gail’s Patchwork Emporium at Sebastapol [ Ballarat ] was gutted by fire.

newspaper article here

Thankfully no one was hurt, but this will be a massive blow to Gail, her family and friends and quilting in Central Victoria and elsewhere.

I remember first visiting Gail’s when it was known as The Silver Thimble, and run out of her rumpus room at home, just round the corner from the present site. This would be over 20 years ago.

Several Melbourne quilting friends and I would load up the car once or twice a year, and head for Daylesford – always by way of Gail’s. I quickly realised that she was often the only one stocking the fabrics that I coveted in US mail-order catologues and quilt mags.

It seems unbelievable now, but back in the late 80s/early 90s, she was the only quilt fabric supplier – round here anyway – willing to take a punt on stocking Bali Batiks, pseudo hand dyes and all those wonderful Japanese prints that are still one of her mainstays.

Once I moved up here, I continued to make my annual pilgrimage, especially if I had reason to go through Ballarat.

I’m hoping that she will rise, Phoenix-like, from the ashes, and rebuild.

2 thoughts on “Sad News for Quilters

  1. That is terribly sad! I do hope that she has enough spirit and heart (and insurance!) to rise again. Do keep us posted.

  2. Lynne says:

    Oh, yes, me too! I have never shopped with her – it’s such a long way from Sydney – but I hate hearing of people’s businesses doing it tough (I’ve been there and it ain’t fun!) The building she was in was so beautiful – I really do hope she rebuilds.

Leave a Reply

