Some more hair of the dog

It is true that I have been – just once or twice mind you – in the past, informed that I am just a wee bit totally obsessive when it comes to things of a fibre or textile nature.

Whereas, I have always strenuously denied that this was the case,today I am prepared to concede that there might be a hint … the merest whiff … of truth to those allegations.

Exhibit A – Big box o’ dog fluff [ from this guy ]

Exhibit B – the yarn spun from the box o’ fluff

[ augmented by alpaca and a bit of baaaaa ]

Exhibit C – would be the shawl the I started knitting from my Hair Of The Dog yarn – with a drip in my hand – post surgery. Perfectly normal behaviour in my view. Not the least bit mad weird insane OCD odd.

Said shawl has been on hiatus since I ran out of yarn in hospital, until this week, when I got back to spinning, the result of which was duly skeined, soaked, whacked into submission, dried, wound into a ball

and finally added onto what had been done earlier

This is a rustic looking yarn with flecks and nupps of brown polwarth, blue grey alpaca and white Samoyed… not something suited to fine lace. The shawl that has evolved [ pattern? what pattern ? ] has alternating bands of garter and stocking stitch, garter borders and rows of eyelets whenever I jolly well feel like it.

So that’s what I’ve been doing the last few days when not engaged in weeding, goat wrangling and the knitting of a ‘something that was not a shawl and which I will tell you about later’

Brain mostly in neutral, which accounts for the inevitable ” Damnation. I forgot to put in the yarn overs on that last row buggerit”

Still, all going well until I got to the cast-off [ bind off for my trans-pacific friends ] and realised that I wasn’t going to make it.

Maybe if I knit faster, it’ll go further …

ARGHHHHHHH!

 

**mutter mutter mutter whinge whine twenty bloody stitches grizzle **

but did I throw it in the corner to rot ? [ as may have been my first inclination ]

I did not

Did I haul out Ms Charlotte Sheridan and press her into service ?

Well, actually, no

I did not:

Nadie is not the only woman in this house who owns a drop spindle or three [ mind you I did only make a metre or so of yarn ]

and now all I have to do is find the right sewing needle, darn in the ends, give it a warm bath and a good blocking [ a bit like being stretched on the rack would be if it was with woolly items instead of medieval victims of torture ]

 

3 thoughts on “Some more hair of the dog

  1. Lynne says:

    Can’t wait to see the finished product! Hope it’s cooler there than it has been here!

  2. Marcie says:

    Like Lynne, I’m looking forward to seeing the finished article! Don’t fancy dog hair myself, though….

  3. Maria says:

    Of course the old saying of “waste not, want not” comes to mind. Can’t wait to see the finished project, the colours are so earthy and look so like they need to be touched

Leave a Reply

