A shawl, some kids and a bare Bear

You probably already are aware  that I’ve recently finished the ‘Hair Of The Dog’ shawl from my handspun alpaca/ samoyed / polwarth wool yarn.

I quite enjoyed making it, and certainly enjoyed the challenge of spinning samoyed wool, but there are limits to how many shawls a woman can actually wear so I’d decided that it needed to belong to my goats-and-gardens friend Brenda.

So Nadie, Bear and I were heading that way yesterday for a spot of lunch with the promise of ancillary brand new baby goat snuzzling.

About the time the Girl was putting on her farm tramping shoes, I realised that I didn’t yet have a photo of the finished shawl, so that was speedily remedied

and then I couldn’t resist taking one of the ‘Hair of the Dog’ with his hairy beariness who, of course, didn’t stay still long enough for my stooooopid camera but you get the idea.

Much goat snuzzling ensued, Nadie took pics of the new kids, Brenda cooked us a great lunch, and Bear came home heavily scented with  Eau-de-Goat Poo, which lasted about as long as it took me to throw him in the shower.

Net result: one extremely fluffy canine distinctly unimpressed at the enforced bath when he had one only last weekend.

Then last night I got a call from the dog groomer to see if I’d like to bring him in this morning instead of next week.

Forecast for today? 33C ! so yes please!

The sooner all that hair was off, the better … but … did I mention that part of the whole grooming thing involves a b-a-t-h ?

Someone was distictly underwhelmed

Did I remember to get a good shot of him pre haircut? asked Nadie when I got back … erm … ahh … that would be a no.

Buggerit.

and then we went back a couple of hours later to a completely unrecognisable – but much cooler – canine

Here he is being beary unimpressed

I IZ NOT LOOKING AT U I IZ NOT HAPPY WIF U PEEPLEZ

I mean what he-dog wants to come home wearing a sissy red bow and smelling like a French tart ?

IZ I STILL HANDSOME ?

6 thoughts on “A shawl, some kids and a bare Bear

  1. Dorothy says:

    Yes you IZ darling .. you’re beautiful.

  2. Lynne says:

    Very handsome. And tell mummy that the shawl is gorgeous!

  3. The shawl is beautiful,and the doggie is handsome, with or without hair !!!

  4. ozjane says:

    Love the shawl and Bear I feel for you without your beautiful hair but we still love you and handsomeness comes from within.
    So you are still handsome.

Leave a Reply

