Christmas House Tour 2011 Day 4:

Back out in the big room [ the other half of my sewing room cleverly disguised as Nadie and Chris’ lounge room ] … and what a surprise [!!] … it’s another creche.

This one was a post-Christmas Ebay purchased present to myself, and isn’t it just the perfect nativity set for the quilter who loves the colour blue ?

In fact, the only problem with it that I can see, is that the stable is about 6mm [ 1/4″ ] too high to fit on the bookshelves with all the other nativity sets.

The degree of detail is just wonderful

and I love the wise men too

although  I must admit to being slightly puzzled by the rather bulbous mound-shaped ‘manger’ that the Christ Child is lying in, and I’m fairly sure that Mary and Joseph in their impoverished state wouldn’t have had a fancy applique quilt for their babe.

The blue lace doing duty as a runner is a beautiful vintage 1930 piece that I was given about 20 years ago ” Because you’ll do something with it”, as was the 1880 Christening robe hanging on the wall behind.

and yes, I do realise how lucky I am to receive some of these treasures.

13 days 3 hours and 16 minutes

 

 

 

6 thoughts on “Christmas House Tour 2011 Day 4:

  1. Lynne says:

    That nativity set is gorgeous! It deserves it’s own special place.

  2. Val Groombridge says:

    what a wonderful nativity, I think there has to be some poetic licence with the crib for a quilter!

  3. catsmum says:

    True Val but you have to admit it IS a rather odd shaped thing

  4. […] I showed you that bee-ooo-ti-full blue patchwork design Jim Shore nativity set … which seems to be at the heart of this space’s  slightly split Christmas […]

  5. ozjane says:

    I am mega envious of that nativity set.

  6. […] the last three weeks [ in which case I salute your intestinal fortitude ] or you haven’t [ in which case … go … now … and … have … a … look […]

Leave a Reply

