One Year Finishes

okay so:

my tally for 2011:

  • 95 finished knitting or crochet projects and this is NOT counting the 30 or so snowflakes /stars made for Christmas decorating and gift giving

[ because I totally forgot – again – to keep an accurate count ]

These cute little baby boleros

only just scooted in under the wire in the week between Christmas and New Years. They were a test knit that I was doing for Madeleine  on Ravelry,

and I finished #3 – the grey one – at 11.54 pm on New years Eve.

  • finished 109 novels*
  • 1 [9 foot square ] finished quilt that I have mostly failed to blog about. My quilting friends can attest that it took me all flipping year to get the binding hand sewn onto this one.
  • and I produced about 600 metres of handspun [ and almost all of that has been knitted up ]

 

* If you can be bothered plowing through the list, I’d welcome new author suggestions:

January/February
I Shall Wear Midnight – Terry Pratchett
Changes – Jim Butcher
A Kiss of Shadows – Laurell K Hamilton
A Caress of Twighlight – LKH
Seduced By Moonlight – LKH
A Stroke of Midnight – LKH
Mistral’s Kiss – LKH
A Lick of Frost – LKH
Swallowing Darkness – LKH
Divine Misdemeanor – LKH
Oryx and Crake – Margaret Attwood
Dead Over Heels – Charlaine Harris
Guilty Pleasures – Laurell K Hamilton
The Laughing Corpse – LKH
Circus of the Damned – LKH
The Lunatic Cafe – LKH
Bloody Bones – LKH
The Killing Dance – LKH
Burnt Offerings – LKH
Blue Moon – LKH
Obsidian Butterfly – LKH
Narcissus In Chains – LKH
Cerulean Sins – LKH
Incubus Dreams – LKH

March
The Girl with The Dragon Tattoo – Stieg Larsson
The Girl Who Played With Fire – SL
Many Bloody Returns – Charlaine Harris, Jim Butcher et al
The Harlequin – LKH
Dark Lover – JR Ward
A Touch Of Dead – CH Book 30
The Girl Who Kicked The Hornets Nest – SL
Merlin – Stephen Lawhead

April
Murder By The Slice – Livia Washburn
Goodies Rule OK
Wild Sheep Chase – Haruki Murakami
Dance Dance dance – HM

May
Clockwork Angel – Cassandra Clare
City Of Bones – CC
City of Ashes – CC
Side Jobs – Jim Butcher Book 40
Keep The Aspidistra Flying – George Orwell
Deja Dead – Kathy Reichs
City Of Glass – CC
The Devil You Know – Mike Carey
Death Du Jour – KR
Deadly Decisions – KR
Dark Side – Belinda Bauer
Rite – Tad Williams

June
Fatal Voyage – KR
Grave Secrets – KR Book 50
Bare Bones – KR
Devil Bones – KR
Blacklands – BB
Mint Juleps, Mayhem and Murder -Sara Rosett
A Cottswold Killing – Rebecca Tope
Bones To Ashes – KR
Indigo Dying – Susan Wittig Albert
Fever Of The Bone – Val McDermid
Vicious Circle – Mike Carey
Dead Man’s Boots – MC Book 60
Monday Mourning – KR
Legacy Of Lies – Elizabeth Chandler ( had to push myself to finish )
Don’t Tell – Karen Rose
206 Bones – KR
Under The Dragon’s tail – Maureen Jennings
Mistletoe Man – SWA

July
Thicker Than Water – MC
The Naming Of The Beasts – MC
Giants Dance – Robert Carter
Break No Bones – KR book 70

August
Dark and Stormy Knight – Jim Butcher et al (short story anthology)
Cross Bones – KR
Dead Reckoning – CH
Thief of Time – Terry Pratchett

September
Johannes Cabal Necromancer – Jonathon Howard
Johannes Cabal Detective – JH
Blood Of Angels – Michael Marshall
Spider Bones – KR
Flirt – LKH actual zombie raising and minimal raunch – a return to the form of the early books

October
Bullet – LKH Book 80
Hit List – LKH
Unholy Ghosts – Stacia Kane
American Gods – Neil Gaiman
Unholy Magic – SK
City Of Ghosts – SK
Ghost story – JB
Night Watch – Sergei Lutkenyenko
Day Watch – SL
Twighlight Watch – SL
Last Watch – SL Book 90
The Folklore of Discworld – Terry Pratchett & Jacqueline Simpson
Three Bags Full: a sheep detective story – Leonie Swann (as good as everyone says it is)

November
Wee Free Men – TP
Hat Full Of sky – TP
Wintersmith – TP
Sunshine – Robin McKinley
The Osiris Ritual – George Mann.
Real Murders – CH
A Bone To Pick – CH
Three Bedrooms One Corpse – CH BOOK 100
The Julius House – CH
Dead Over Heels – CH
A Fool & His Honey – CH
Last Scene Alive – CH
Poppy Done To Death – CH

December
The Affinity Bridge – GM
The Elegance Of The Hedgehog – Muriel Barbery
The Man With The Golden Torc – Simon Green
Carpe Jugulum – TP   total  109 books

20 thoughts on “One Year Finishes

  1. Oh my goodness, you have read so many books. Unfortunately, last year I haven’t done as much reading as I used to … particularly since I bought my Ipad (watch old tv programs instead !!). I really want to get back into reading, it is so enjoyable.

    See you Saturday xx

  2. Leah says:

    I’ve read a lot of things on your list, and currently I’m enjoying Dana Stabenow’s books. Kind of self sufficiency in Alaska mixed with murders and hot sex.

    You’ve been fabulously fibre-ly productive!

  3. Lindi Jarman says:

    Lots of “bones” there! 🙂 May I very highly recommend Night Circus, by Erin Morgenstern. I read it in Dec and intend rereading it before Jan finishes, I loved it so much.

  4. Everything yu haven’t read by Terry Pratchett! I am halfway through Unseen Academicals with Snuff waiting on the shelf. I am thinking of getting the male child to lend the lot to me so I can reread the lot … in correct order.

    Judy B

    • catsmum says:

      Judy I’ve read all the TPs [ and in order ] except Snuff – which we’ll get when it comes out in paperback. Now I just reread selectively as the mood takes me. Never DID finish Pyramids even though I’ve had two goes at it.
      Love anything with the Lancre witches and also any with The Guard.
      We actually have two complete sets here. Mine are currently in the shed and we’re sharing Nadie-and-The-Boy’s set.

      • I don’t have to wait for the paper back as boy child gets them on release day or earlier. (He is known at certain shops!) He has them read in a few hours and delivers them for me to read at Christmas. I didn’t read last years before he deliverd the new one so have two new ones to read … one after the other.

  5. Tara says:

    Oh look! It’s my quilt! ;p
    Have you read Good Omens by Neil Gaiman and Terry Pratchett yet? I loved it.

  6. Lynne says:

    Wow! You certainly packed a lot into 2011 what with crafting, reading, gardening, goat wrangling, bush clearing, maintenance, housework and family – not to mention singing, and …

  7. Dorothy says:

    I think we have similar taste in books. I keep a list of books Ive read on the bottom of my right hand side bar on my blog if you’re interested.

  8. Jessi says:

    Have you read any Seanan McGuire? I love the Dresden books and these are very similar. The main character is Tobey Daye, a changeling dealing with lots of fairy politics and usually some murder. She’s got another series, too, but I can’t remember the name.

    • catsmum says:

      I’ve looked her up in our library database again, in the hope that they’ve acquired some, but alas, no 😦
      These days I rarely buy a new author unless I’ve read at least one to make sure I like them.
      If you like the Jim Butchers, could I suggest Mike Carey ?
      Sheepish Annie put me onto him, I read one through the library, then bought the whole set.

  9. RoseRed says:

    Wow, that is a LOT of knitting and reading. I have no book recommendations since I don’t read much any more, but the knitting! Wow. I like that little bolero very much. Very very cute.

  10. Lyn says:

    Wow you are one amazing woman I thought reading 68 books
    was good, no finished knitting for me unfortunately but 4 UFO living
    in my knitting bag, but I will change all that in 2012
    Congrats on the new grandchild so exciting

  11. Madeleine says:

    Feels great to have managed to much during the year, eh? 😀
    I’ve read many of those you’ve listed – for example I really enjoy Neil Gaiman and the Merry Gentry books (not too fond of Anita Blake unfortunately). I loved both Dresden files and the City of… books – I’ve only read the first one of each series so far, so I have lots of fun left! 😀

  12. donna lee says:

    It sounds like we like a lot of the same books. Have you read Guillermo del Toro’s The Strain (and two sequels whose names I can’t for the life of me remember at this moment)?

    Your quilt reminds me of my favorite anime series, Mushishi. It’s beautiful.

  13. gayle says:

    Can’t think of anything to add (and I’ve made a few notes from your list for my next trip to the library…)
    I think I found a new author this year, but can’t for the life of me remember the name right now. Which is why I’m going to list the books I read this year!

Leave a Reply

