The Joys Of Life In The Bush … NOT!

Personally I blame Nadie

‘T’is she who only a day or so ago happened to mention on one of the Ravelry forums that we hadn’t had any snake sightings so far this Summer.

So  –  of course –  you all know what happened next, right ?

11 am yesterday Bear and I decided to take the wheelbarrow for a leisurely wheel up /over the block towards Pete-formerly-next-door’s side fence to gather some edibles for the goaty girls.

Bear was blazing the trail ahead when his attention was diverted … much the same as it was a week or so ago when he discovered the echidna.

So over he went, leading with his inquisitive little black nose, as dogs do.

What I saw next was The Beariness leaping back slightly as a very unhappy Brown Snake* reared up on its midsection and lunged at him.

I screamed at him to come while simultaneously abandoning the hapless wheelbarrow to whatever fate might befall it.

Bear did what he was told and ‘came’ unlike the last time

I ran with him back down the path to be met at the door by Nadie and The Boy who’d heard the commotion, and we all proceeded to give his furry little body a comprehensive medical exam.

The reality is that, had he been bitten by a brown, there probably wouldn’t have been time to get him  into town to the Vet.

This time we were lucky.

Bear is fine – although a little miffed at being taken out for toilet breaks under armed guard – and the cats are singularly unimpressed at my locking of the catflap.

In a day or so, I’ll relax and go back to my normal level of snake season vigilance

not yet though

and there are no pix to go with the post … strangely, grabbing the camera was the last thing on my mind.

*and before anyone asks, all snakes around here are highly venomous but rarely encountered

8 thoughts on “The Joys Of Life In The Bush … NOT!

  1. Margaret says:

    So glad that the two of you are ok. I live on an acre in SEQld and we have only seen one this season and that from a distance…my motto is all snakes are taipans till proven otherwise

  2. Olivia says:

    Lucky Bear! As a pet owner I would find the snake risk hard to take. Hope you don’t have any more run-ins.

  3. donna lee says:

    We don’t live in a snake infested area and I don’t know if I’d have handled it as well as you. Just the idea gives me the willies. I’m glad Bear listened to you this time.

  4. gayle says:

    I grew up in Kansas (USA) where most of the snakes were poisonous. (My mother, who also grew up there, was firmly of the all-snakes-must-die school of thought…) Now I live in Vermont, where the snakes are all harmless garters, and I don’t have to be afraid of the slither anymore.
    Good luck with Mr Brown – hopefully he’s decided to go live somewhere else!

  5. Lynne says:

    Glad everyone is okay.

  6. Caity says:

    EEEEP!!! So far no browns here (but I know they are about…) just increasingly bigger red-bellied blacks, we suspect all from the same batch… last one was about a metre which is QUITE big enough thankyouverymuch! Glad you are all ok, but sheesh!

    It’s never NOT snake season here…

Leave a Reply

