Tiny Treasures

Nadie is always telling me ” I hope you’ve written all this down” when I show her some piece of family memorabilia, and yes, a lot of it is labelled as to what and who … but some isn’t

and it occurred to me that the blog represents an excellent way of documenting some of this ‘stuff’ [ and hopefully some of you will find it interesting in some way ]

so I’m starting with something that has absolutely no commercial value whatsoever

but it/they are priceless to me

More years ago than I’m prepared to own up to here, my mother made several pairs of these bootees, each pair in a marginally different size, for her firstborn – which would be moi – to wear home from the hospital as a newborn. These were the smallest pair she made, on UK size 14 or 15 needles [ I forget now what she said – see the importance of writing this stuff down ? ] which would be 1.75mm or 2mm. Ridiculously small.

Your average newborn bootee is about 3 1/2″ long. These measure just over 2″, and apparently they fell off me. I weighed just over 5 pounds so it’s understandable.

Over the ensuing years  Mum and [ or so I believe ]  the Aunts, used the same pattern over and over to make bootees for my brother and cousins as they arrived, although never again was a pair quite as small as these.

In the fullness of time, and because Mum would’ve had a pink fit if I didn’t, I used the same pattern for the bootees that my babes wore home from hospital

and then somehow Mum’s ‘family tradition’ skipped my mind when I was knitting for the arrival of #1 grandson.

On the morning after he arrived, it suddenly surfaced into what is laughingly referred to as my brain, and some serious and frantic rummaging in the keepsake boxes ensued. All I can say is thank goodness my mother trained me up well in the ways of keeping everything, because, as a consequence of that early training, Master Riley David was able to go home from hospital in the same pair of these bootees that his father, uncle, and aunt, had worn so many years before.

and, just in case anyone ever needs it,  I do still have that battered, much-mended old pattern book.

5 thoughts on “Tiny Treasures

  1. Marcie says:

    Those stories are so important. Reminds me of a few things I should label, too.

  2. Judie Gade says:

    I have the most gorgeous pattern books I picked up in Tooradin … Debbie Bliss for Toddlers is one ($4.95! bargain). Have you got it? I have another couple I picked up for $5

    Unfortunately 2 knuckles on my left hand appear to be going arthritic – but I am still going to have a crack at knitting some of the patterns. If I get stuck with the charts (which I hate) … I know who to ring. Why do they have to stuff around with the old way of writing patterns?

    Bah Humbug!

    • catsmum says:

      no I don’t have any Debbie Bliss patterns Judie [ but the local library does ]
      and I don’t much care for charts either but I use them when I have to. I think they came in because the world is now a bigger place and English not the only language. European knitting mags needed a way of putting out their patterns that could be understood in French, Italian, German, Hungarian, Spanish … . and they save a lot of space so they can get more patterns in..

  3. Val Groombridge says:

    a really lovely post of wonderful memorabilia

  4. Lynne says:

    Yay for such family traditions!

    I am way behind – partly because family history and other things have kept me out of blogland for nearly two months, and partly because your blog isn’t coming up on my Reader. I must rectify that before I leave the computer today!

Leave a Reply

