It can’t be the second half of the year already

The annual insanity that is July is here.

The Tour deFrance started at 10pm last night [ our time ] and with it the annual Ravelry TDF Knitalong, as well as the Tour de Fleece*, so I will be trying to spin something every day that Le Tour rides, as well as knitting myself a jacket that I cast on at the start of the Prologue last night:

If I manage to get that done, I can wear it to the OZ Wool & Sheep Show in Spendigo  later in the month.

… oh, and we moved Nadie & The Boy back to Melbourne this week

… and #1 son and DDIL’s new bub is due in less than 2 weeks so there was a not-quite-last-minute blankie to be crocheted

… and I have to finalise preparations for the Sashiko class I’m teaching at the Embroiderer’s Guild this coming weekend

I know I’ve been remiss lately but that’s the blogiverse trap, y’know. The more that you have to write about, the less time you have to write about it.

I mean, there was … oh, and … and then there was … and Nadie and I have been …

buggerit … I’m never going to catch up, so I’ll just try to do better going forward. Okay ?

* last night’s spinning was a fairly token 10 minutes because, after several days of boxes / packing / loading /unloading, the treadling knee wasn’t too keen on the idea. I’ve had a stern talk to it so we’ll do better tonight … maybe.

and I didn’t even tell you about this morning’s  latest thrilling chapter in the ongoing saga of the Great Goat Escape[s] 2012

7 thoughts on “It can’t be the second half of the year already

  1. Dorothy says:

    Ha Ha .. Spendigo … that really cracks me up. Haven’t made the journey yet but hope to do so one day. Mind you, I do frequent their website quite often. Sounds like you have a very busy life – have fun with the TDF activities. xoxox

    • catsmum says:

      ahh yes Ms Dorothy but there are bargains to be had in the Magic Back Room Of Special Discounts and for that you need to be at the Mill

  2. Lynne says:

    You will certainly miss having Nadie around, I’m sure. I miss DD if I don’t see her! Take care of your knees, there’s a few days of riding, er spinning, to go yet! Are you joining the Ravellenic Games this year? I have entered the Frogging Trampoline and the WIP Wrestling events and am considering one more!

    • catsmum says:

      Once you’ve joined a team you can ‘enter; the events as needed. If they’re using similar rules to the last winter Ravelympics then you can enter items in more than one event. For example the teeny twin lace cardis I designed and made got medals in Designer Dance, Lace Luge and a couple of other ‘disciplines’ that I can’t remember at the moment. Over the duration of the Winter Games, I think I ended up with 13 ‘medals’
      Team Doing A Bradbury [ named in honour of our speed skating hero of course ] has been renamed Team Aussie for London 2012, but you can join as many or as few as you can keep up with the posting.

  3. Rosemary says:

    You have the Great Goat Escape saga happening at your house. I’m just about to write on my blog about the Great Galah Escape. They were out and about for nearly a whole week taunting me with little visits and chats. They are home safe and sound now.

  4. […] Back at the start of July, I mentioned what a frantic month it was shaping up to be [ and yes it was, which you could possibly have guessed from the relative paucity of posts ] and showed you a pic of the cardi that I had just cast on for the Tour De France KAL [ knitalong ] […]

Leave a Reply

