the best laid plans

… and I was being soooo organised.

Having seen the dreaded lurgy of last week out the door, I was all prepared to meet my newest grandchild tomorrow

The lovingly knitted annd crocheted bits and pieces were all boxed up this morning,

little pressies for my grandsons bought and wrapped this afternoon.

Oh, I tell you, I was positively glowing with  virtuous, organised grandmotherliness …

and then I remembered that one particular, very special little cardigan lacked a certain something … like being blocked … or having buttons … or even, come to think of it, actually being sewn together.

and you can’t rush the sewing up [ well, I can’t ] because as sure as I try to do a rush job, I botch it up.

So, after several deep cleansing breaths, I put the current knitting/spinning aside, settled in, and sewed it up. Followed by the fastest wet blocking in the history of the world.

Now you have to bear in mind that a central Victorian Winter’s late afternoon/evening is not generally conducive to a natural drying session outside, so cut to some careful force-drying on top of the wood heater [ much to MissC’s disgruntlement as that’s her favourite winter warm spot ]

and here it is:

The pattern is Presto Chango by Valerie Wallis, and is available free at Jimmy Beans Wool.

The really clever thing about this wee cardi is that the whole front panel unbuttons, making it easy to make extras [ which I haven’t yet ] for quick changes, and potentially cutting down on the number of times the whole garment needs laundering. Miss Asher may have her own ideas on that score.

The yarn is Bendigo Woollen Mills new machine washable 8ply/DK wool/bamboo in Merlot [ much deeper wine colour than my evening flash photography shows ] on 4.5mm KP needles. and, as the pattern is written for a heavier yarn, I used the stitch count for the middle size, while following the measurements for the smallest.

Here’s the rest of the package:

hats, mittens, a cotton ‘salsa’ dress/top for next summer, with sewn pull-on pants for underneath,  and, as specifically requested by DDIL who knows she’ll be inundated by a sea of pink, a mauve crochet blankie and everything else in red.

Okay, I’m going back to my TDF knitting now

10 thoughts on “the best laid plans

  1. It’s all so lovely!

  2. Lynne says:

    Well done on a really lovely gift package.

  3. Marcie says:

    And gorgeous colours, too!

  4. rosered says:

    What a great package of handmade goodness. I love the presto chango jumper – such a clever idea.

  5. dorothyoz says:

    Lovely gifts for the new babe. Love that Chango cardigan – such a great idea with that changeable front panel.

  6. Linda says:

    Everything looks beautiful! What a lucky little granddaughter. I’m sure grandma’s going to be very busy knitting and sewing for quite some time! Hope you can post some pictures of your visit with Little Miss.

  7. Maria says:

    One very lucky little girl to have a Grandmother that crafts. Fantastic job!

  8. jan2132 says:

    All the garments are lovely and what a great idea to have the replaceable front panel.

  9. What a lovely gift! That’s one lucky baby!

  10. […] you were being particularly vigilant last week you would have noticed the little mauve baby blanket that I made for new granddaughter. A simple […]

Leave a Reply

