The cat hair is just added insulation

If you were being particularly vigilant last week you would have noticed the little mauve baby blanket that I made for new granddaughter. A simple crochet rectangle in vintage Patons Bluebell 5 ply/sport that has been in my stash since my mum passed away in 1994.

As it happens, I have already made a couple of blankets for Nadie & Chris’ little one-to-be, but she rather liked the one I’d made for Asher. Never let it be said that I had overlooked an opportunity to make something small, cute and snuggly. Especially as I needed something to work on at last Friday’s Ravelry Baa Dinner at the Shamrock Hotel in Bendi.

So, armed with a slightly deeper lilac BWM 4ply [ fingering ] and an F/3.75mm hook, I settled in at the table surrounded by lovely tiara-wearing fiberistas [ but that’s probably a story for another day ] and started chaining.

I quickly discovered that lilac yarn on a pale blue metallic hook and lowish light levels was not exactly a marriage made in heaven, and, although I persevered through the dinner, I pulled the whole lot out and started again once we got home. [ Fabulous dinner though ]

A 2 hour train ride to Melbourne and back on Sunday, and an hour to kill before ‘Marriage Of Figaro’ made up for the lack of forward momentum on Friday night, so it was just a matter of working away at it over the last couple of days when not otherwise occupied with goats, bonfires, and choir [ and a modicum of housework when it couldn’t be ignored any longer ]

Finished it and sewed in all the ends today, so now all I need to do is figure out what the heck I’m going to cast-on during the Opening Ceremony for the Olympics.

3 thoughts on “The cat hair is just added insulation

  1. Lynne says:

    Looking good!

    What team are you in, if any?

  2. donna lee says:

    I am currently in love with making tiny sweaters. Four young women at work are all in one stage or another of producing offspring. It’s got to be something in the water!

Leave a Reply

