Let The Games Commence

If I was able to get decent free-to-air television reception I might actually have hauled my carcass out of bed at ‘Oh God’ o’clock to watch the Opening Ceremony for the Olympics from the very start, and to join in the mass Ravelry cast-on.

Instead I opted to get up and feed the goats at 6.30am and then attempted to catch a bit of the Ceremony.

What I mostly got was this

Still, in the spirit of the Games, I cast on for an Ishbel in the gorgeous Zauberball that was acquired at the Wool & Sheep Show last week.

There were a few brief moments where the picture cleared up

but it was pretty much unwatchable, so after the token cast-on, I switched back to the satellite [ which wasn’t carrying the Opening Ceremony ] and I’ll be watching my Games on Austar. Here in the Antipodes, thanks to the time difference, the Olympic action will take place between 6pm and 6am, and I’ve had to subscribe [ temporarily, believe me  ] to the … gasp … SPORTS package but I must have my diving and gymnastics.

Thanks to the idiocy last month of the US OC, the name of our beloved Ravelympics has been changed to the Ravellenic Games [ yes, Hellenic … Greek … Ravellenic … I get the reference ] even though the stupid beggars backed down and apologised for upsetting 2 million wielders of pointy sticks worldwide.

On this ‘ere blog they will still be referred to as the Ravelympics.

 

 

5 thoughts on “Let The Games Commence

  1. Rosemary says:

    I love that lacy scarf and the rich colours of your yarn. One day I’m going to have to get brave and have a go at knitting something lacy.

    • catsmum says:

      the thing with lace is to pick the ‘right’ first project and yarn. Preferably something where every wrong side row is pretty much all purl or all knit – to give your brain somewhere to rest, and something with a repeat that you can easily memorise. When you decide to go for it Rosemary, I’ll be here to hold your hand.

  2. Dorothy says:

    Good onya .. Ravelympics in my mind too !! I didn’t get up at stupid o’clock but will be watching the replay at 2pm this arvo. Go the Aussies . xoxox

  3. Lynne says:

    Oh, how frustrating for you. I didn’t get up to watch it, we finally turned the recording on at 7pm!

  4. ozjane says:

    rotten miserable TV

Leave a Reply

