Things I learned this week …

Partial blogging restored courtesy of Nadie’s IPad: (but no photos) So here are the things that I learned this week : 1. Surgery isn’t fun … No wait … I already knew that. However, contrary to the opinion of last year’s anaesthetist, that there was no anaesthetic that he was happy to use with me, this year’s fella was happy to try Fentanol ( apparently 10 times stronger than morph so presumably used very carefully ) which he did with minimal adverse results. Basically just a bit of nausea, a slow slide sideways each time I tried to read or knit, coupled with a highly attractive tendency for my left eye to close against my conscious efforts while the right eye hovered somewhere around half mast. A small price to pay for adequate pain relief but not a great look. 2. I have some really nice friends … No wait … knew that too. ( they know who they are ) 3. If you have any intention of knitting, crocheting or stitching, get them to canulate the non dominant hand … Nope … Knew that one too … learned that one the hard way LAST year. 4. My daughter is pretty special … Well … Obviously I knew that, but specifically I’m referring to the fact that she drove 2 hours to get up here on Monday to bring me  home from hospital DESPITE having fallen the previous day ( the bump is fine but Nadie’s nose and wrists didn’t fare quite so well ). This week it’s been a bit of a moot point who was looking after whom. 5. I totally suck at taking it easy … Well, I think we ALL knew that. 6. The sight of a whole family of kookaburras congregating on the nineteenth century chimneys of the hospital was just awesome … and so’s our wonderful little hospital … But I already knew that too … I could’ve gone to Bendigo but why would I ?  Not knocking Bendy, but the level of care and attention available at Castlemaine can’t be faulted …  well, apart from having to wait until the hour of nine of the clock to get a cup of tea !

10 thoughts on “Things I learned this week …

  1. lisette says:

    surgery most emphatically not fun ! so glad the anaesthetist found a solution for you and that you’re home and safe. i know there is no point saying this but TAKE IT EASY!!!

    lots of love xxxx

  2. So pleased you are home and blogging. Hope you get your usual internet connection restored soon to. Get well soon.

  3. Dorothy says:

    Good to hear things went well. Take care of yourself.

  4. Lynne says:

    Glad to hear that things went reasonably well. Take care of Nadie while she is taking care of you!

  5. Maria says:

    Great to hear that your home. Sounds like normality is slowly returning

  6. Val Groombridge says:

    hope you will be feeling heaps better in the not to distant future, until then do as directed and take things easy!!!

  7. meow says:

    Glad to hear you are home and on the mend. Hope you can get your computer / internet working properly again soon. Look after yourselves. Big hugs xxx

  8. RoseRed says:

    Glad you are home and doing ok. Please do take it easy!!

  9. ozjane says:

    well that is wonderful to hear. I prefer to hear that report to the one where you have no anesthetic
    Sorry Nardie had a fall and glad bump is OK. Must be getting harder to drive with bump hitting steering wheel or are there magic means to avoid that.
    Computers are nasty beasties and cannot be relied upon. But we all know that.
    Take care all of you..

  10. donna lee says:

    I’m so glad they found some pain reliever that works for you (even if it makes your eyes wonky). I think your eyes are telling you to sleep and rest which (as well all also know) you are not very good at.

    It’s good to hear that things are moving along. I was thinking about you.

Leave a Reply

