In which I am a butterfly

I’ve been mentally writing posts all week.

Rivetting, witty posts

… and whiny, self-pitying posts

because it’s been one of ‘those’ weeks.

You all know the kind I mean. Mixed. Really quite good stuff and not so good stuff.

Anyway, basically, as you will have guessed, none of those mental posts ever quite made it out of the shower [ where I seem to do my best blog writing ] and onto the computer keyboard.

So once again, it’s going to be one of the kind of posts that are mainly photos.

So:

Sunday was the 150th anniversary of our local railway station and also, linked to that, a family day in the park adjacent to said station. There were all the standbyes of this sort of event. Sausage sizzles, bouncy castle, live entertainment – which included the Peace Choir, which is comprised of parents and friends of the Day Service that David attends, as well as clients and staff of some of the other mental health related organisations in town, augmented by some of the girls from our a capella womens’ choir, the Chat warblers [ both choirs being under the choral direction of the lovely Jane Thompson ]

Despite competing with a stiff breeze and the occasional steam train, our half hour or so of harmonising went quite well I thought.

David thoroughly approved of the singing, snags, fire engines, steam train, red balloon

and

face painting by lovely lovely Ambah, a local artist [ and knitter ]

I asked her to keep it simple for Dave because I wasn’t sure how he’d respond but he sat ever so quietly and kept his eyes closed when asked to. The grin on his face when he saw himself in the mirror was priceless.

There didn’t seem to be anyone waiting at that point so I figured ‘what the hell. Why not? Why should the kids have all the fun?’

and spent the rest of the day walking around looking like this: [ and this WAS taken in full sun so no poking fun at all of my wrinkles ]

It was kinda fun watching people’s reactions in the supermarket and later when I had to go collect my quilts from the Town Hall. It seemed such a shame that I had to wash it all off at bedtime.

If you can’t be a butterfly in Castlemaine, then you can’t be a butterfly anywhere.

the rest of the week has included half a very gentle dance class, a major fibro flare, a wee bit of machine patchwork, peanut butter fudge [ curse you Pinterest ] a lot of time horizontalling on the couch, almost no gardening

although Nadie and Chris’ wedding anniversary iris flowered right on time for Tuesday. Happy second Anniversary!

and

the rigid plastic one-size-fits-nobody-else-in-the-world-‘cept-me wrist brace I was fitted for last week, and didn’t tell you about because I couldn’t figure out how to do that without sounding whiny and self-pitying

has, as of yesterday afternoon, been joined by this one on the other wrist.

Looks and feels as though someone cut up a wetsuit.

and the cats really don’t care about unswept floors or unmade beds, so long as I can still tear open a box of kibble.

6 thoughts on “In which I am a butterfly

  1. weemummi says:

    Sorry to read you have not had all smooth sailing, may next week be better for you.

  2. Lynne says:

    The butterfly looked gorgeous; I’m so glad you had a photo taken and that you were brave enough to share it with us. I’m glad David enjoyed his rainbow too. Happy anniversary to Nadie and Chris. Hope you are feeling much better real soon!

  3. ozjane says:

    Only you could get away with that.
    Yuck to the wrist gadgets……can identify with not being as mobile as I want to be,,,,,,,darn it.

  4. Margaret says:

    Love the butterfly but the wrist braces…Oh dear, not conducive to doing anything, and especially not sewing or knitting or…

  5. gayle says:

    Wrinkles? I see no wrinkles. Only an amazing butterfly!
    Carpal tunnel problems? I went through CTS 15+ years ago, with weeks in a wrist brace. No trouble since, for which I am glad. (I reviewed every single thing I do with my hands, and worked at making changes that took the strain off my wrists. A lot of effort, which has paid off many times over.)
    Hope you’re feeling better as soon as possible!

    • catsmum says:

      No, no CT this time [been there, done that, 18 months in a brace ] … no, this time it’s one of the tendonitus family: De Couevain Syndrome with a side order of osteo in the thumbs.
      Basically I shouldn’t knit, spin or garden. Bugger that for a lark.

Leave a Reply

