Five weeks ’till Christmas, and …

Normally by this stage of the year, I would have already made several dozen crochet snowflakes and will be elbow deep in the thinned down PVA mixture that I use to stiffen them. Having passed the mid-point in November, the undecorating and redecorating should be well underway too.

This year is going to be a little different.

Firstly  – of course – while I factored the surgery in August in to my forward planning, and got as far ahead on that score as I could, I didn’t really count on bringing Golden Staph home from Hospital, or the resultant month and a half spent horizontal on the couch, too exhausted to even lift a book or knitting needle. Nor did I foresee the need to spend the next month or so all strapped up in splints and wrist braces.

The secondly, to that firstly, is of course, the imminent arrival of Chris and Nadie’s little miss, still affectionately being referred to as Cookie. We are currently at due date minus 4 days and counting, so I know not what my movements over the next couple of weeks will be.

Anyway, as you may have guessed, the crochet snowflakes are running a bit behind schedule, but I have not been idle.

In the absence of block clearing, goat wrangling, spinning, reading, knitting, crochet and quilting, there was … Pinterest!

I thought Facebook was a major timesuck [ and it is ]

I thought Ravelry was a major timesuck [ and it really really is ]

but Pinterest really should carry a health warning.

Inevitably I browsed [ amongst other things ] for Christmas ideas.

I rediscovered the salt-dough cookie ornaments that we all used to make forty years  a long time ago. So David helped me to whip up a batch

The results were a little … MEH!

[ Yes, of course I have a goat cookie cutter … and you were surprised, why exactly? ]

In the face of such underwhelmingness, I tried this recipe from Woodside Kitchen, which uses a much finer textured mix of Bicarb Soda and cornflour [ cornstarch ] which is cooked in a saucepan, much like the play-dough of yore, before rolling the mix out, cutting and baking for a fairly long time in a slow oven.

The first lot I used a cheap Black & Gold brand wheaten Cornflour, and the results predictably have a slightly wheaten hue but with a silken texture that is almost porcelain like.

The next batch I used a name branded cornflour and the results are slightly lighter, though still not the glossy white of the original blog post. One of the challenges was deciding how thick [ or rather how thin ] to roll the dough. IMHO thin absolutely looks best but there’s a definite point at which the number of accidental breakages increases exponentially.

I took a Pinterest-guided leaf from here on Katy Elliott’s blog, and freehand drew swirls, curls and hearts with a red felt pen on some of them before a top coat of spray clear varnish.

The last batch of ornaments, destined for the wee kitchenalia-themed tree in … yes … the kitchen, were made with a recipe that pretty much everyone accepts originated with Martha Stewart about twenty years ago:  Cinnamon Applesauce dough. This has a bit of Elmer’s Glue in the mix, which seems to be an American brand name for a PVA glue, so that’s what I used.

They do smell wonderfully cinnamonish, but you can also smell the glue in there, so next time I may try one of the versions that are purely applesauce and cinnamon.

Of all of these that I’ve tried, I think by far my favourite is the bicarb/ cornflour version, and I hope one day to find a brand that replicates that wonderful glossy white finish of the original.

9 thoughts on “Five weeks ’till Christmas, and …

  1. Lynne says:

    I wish Nadie and Chris all the best for the coming blessed event.
    I truly hope you are well enough to cope with Christmas decorating — I’ve followed your blog long enough to know it’s very important to you.
    I remember “cooking” play dough for my girl — I must dig out the recipe for Older Grandson sometime soon! Your dough stars look great. Is it possible the glossy white one you saw was painted?

    • Fleta says:

      Se a Intel não tiver uma concorrente, o deovmvsleinento de novas tecnologias pode ficar mais lento e os preços podem subir. E eu sempre senti que os jogos rodam com melhor desempenhonos processadores AMD.Usando Firefox 2.0.0.14 em Windows XP

  2. catsmum says:

    Quite possible Lynne although I feel that the blogger probably would have mentioned it if that were so [ unless she did and I missed it ]

  3. catsmum says:

    for anyone who needs it
    Playschool Playdough recipe. Enjoy!

    Cooked Play Dough
    What you need
    4 cups flour
    4 teaspoons cream of tartar
    1 cup salt
    4 cups water
    A few drops of food colouring
    2 tablespoons cooking oil
    What you need to do
    Sift flour into a large cooking pot.
    Add cream of tartar and salt and mix to combine.
    Combine water and a few drops of food colouring in a large jug.
    Add oil and water to dry ingredients and stir to combine.
    Continue stirring mixture over medium heat until the mixture thickens.
    Remove dough from saucepan and allow to cool before use.

  4. Rosemary says:

    I found that cornflour recipe on Pintarest too. You are right. That site should come with a warning. I just love all the Christmas ideas I find there. I’ll let you know if mine turn out shiny or not. I’m counting down the days until the decorations go up here – 9 to go. I hope you are well enough to get your decorations up this year or you are able to get plenty of help in putting them up.

  5. Marigold says:

    Now that goat ornament is quite the BEST ornament I’ve ever seen. I’m just sayin’ … 🙂

    • catsmum says:

      well yes Miss Marigold, you would say that 😛 Have you noticed how no one makes goat ornaments … Cats occasionally, dogs a-plenty, but no goats. Which is surprising given how attractive they are.

  6. […] cookie cutters and so on, and this year, the collection of cinnamon cookie-dough ornaments that David helped me make a few weeks back. There’s enough spice in the recipe that the faint scent of cinnamon has […]

  7. Norm says:

    Oh? I thought her dad did that because her mom was crazy jealous of her or something. 🙂 Thanks for that though! And I agree, it is quite a gorgeous photo and cor~layesp!

Leave a Reply

