Christmas House Tour 2012 Day 3

We’re still in the same room as the big tree I showed you in the last post.

This is the space you step into when you come in the front door. No entryway, no hall, you just step straight into what [ and yes I say this every year ] the architect mistakenly thought was a lounge [living] room / dining room. Of course all right-minded people know that it is, in point of fact, my studio. The three large work tables are a bit of a giveaway, as are the ever-present sewing machine[s] and the huge piece of gridded quilt batting pinned to caneite that serves as a design wall. Next year’s Christmas quilt-that-is-to-be is a bit of a giveaway too.017

So for Christmas it gets, obviously, the tree

and a modest collection of turn-of-the-last-century Christmas postcards.

008

 

Most are American or British, one or two from Scandinavia, and not a one of them is Australian. That, as I seem to recall saying last year, would be my holy grail

 

There’s a fair bit of holly, poinsettia, snow scenes, but also some that seem decidedly non-Christmassy to a 21st century eye: violets, kittens, roses, Gibson girls , and did you notice?

 

011

 

Not one single solitary Saint Nick! Oh, they’re out there, and so is the asking price. Totally out there. So I don’t have any.

This is also the space for my collection of nativities

007

009 (4)

 

 

027 (4)

 

029 (4)

009

010

 

 

and a few other bits and pieces.

this Saint Nicholas triptych

006

The primitive Saint Nick spool knitter painted by my good buddy, Maz [ Crazy Haberdasher ]

013

and some other stuff I forgot to photograph.

so I guess that’s it for now

and in case it has escaped your attention:

2 weeks to go

7 thoughts on “Christmas House Tour 2012 Day 3

  1. Lynne says:

    I love that blue nativity set!

  2. Maz says:

    Keep an eye out for the post Susan!!

  3. Maria says:

    Love the new quilt in production. Those old cards are gorgeous. eBay buys?

  4. ozjane says:

    Looking good…I think I shall snooze my way into Christmas now. Cooked 3 hams and three turkey breast rolls in a week….two for meals here….good sit and sew break up today….now sleep feels good!!
    Take care.

  5. antarabesque says:

    I love that blue nativity set too! When I saw the Holy Child I first thought they were thimbles.

  6. […] mooooooving on … in the corner whatnot, near the predominantly blue Arctic Saint Nicholas, are a couple of danish yule plates that escaped from the […]

Leave a Reply

