Hello May. I missed You.

An overnight temperature just slightly south of zero wouldn’t be particularly noteworthy if this was June. It would be almost commonplace if this was July.

But as it’s only the second day of May, last night’s overnight low of minus 1 felt more than a bit nippy.

Especially as we were wearing short sleeves only a week ago, so we haven’t really had a chance to slowly acclimatise. Not that we ever do. Castlemaine is nothing if not extreme in its weather changes … which is one of the reasons why Castlemaine folks perfected the art of ‘layer dressing’ long before the rest of the world caught on.

Today I started out in socks, leggings, trousers, a long sleeved top, a dress over all that, a jacket and a knitted hat. Thus far the hat, jacket and trousers have come off. When it gets REALLY cold, the kit will include a cowl or scarf, wristwarmers / fingerless gloves and legwarmers. Maybe a jumper/sweater.

For now though, it has turned into an absolutely stunning, clear autumn day.

016

017

Perfect for outside work like raking and piling and bonfiring.

It will – no doubt – be equally cold tonight with no cloud cover to trap the heat, but for now, it’s a lovely day to be a goat

008

5 thoughts on “Hello May. I missed You.

  1. Maria says:

    Oohhh cold. Lucky the days are so beautiful

  2. Bronwen says:

    Today I bought one pair of knee high socks, and one pair of over the knee socks in readiness for the layer dressing..leaving home yesterday at 6.30 am saw me not dressed for Melbourne’s cold day, so I froze most of the time…..now I am. nice and toasty in front of the fire, as I trust you are as well.

  3. ozjane says:

    If I had not had a silly fall I could bring you a rooted cutting of my glory vine to sneak some Autumn reds into there somewhere…..or rather somewhere else as that view is beautiful alone.
    I hate turning the heater on and even tried singlets last week…….they did not last long…….too hard to get in and out of.

  4. donna lee says:

    And here I was being grateful that I was able to walk outside without a sweater/jacket for the first time this year! I am glad to see May but for the opposite reasons! It’s finally warm enough to sit outside and spin or knit or just photosynthisize.

  5. Lynne says:

    It only got down to 8.6° here but it felt a lot colder. Neighbouring Richmond had much less than that so maybe we did too! Now it’s a beautiful clear autumn day — I want to take my paper piecing and go outside (yes, you read that right — this quilter is learning English paper piecing; what will she do next?) but I have to stay inside to make and attach binding; by the time I’ve done that the sun will have gone from the back yard! ;-(

Leave a Reply

